ON DECIDING

It’s like the giant monster that  I insisted was hiding under my bed as five-years-old. And I believe I am equally as afraid of it. Although there is no physical monster (sorry), making decisions of great significance can be equally terrifying.

Perhaps you are trying to decide to take the promotion in a new city as opposed to staying in your hometown. Maybe you are wondering if you should propose to the love of your life.  Or maybe you are just deciding between two restaurants for lunch. Whatever the situation may be, the decision you make effects an outcome in your life in the near future. The uncertainty of an outcome, no matter the possibility of reward or failure, is terrifying.

I’m on your side.

It took me months to decide which university I would attend in the fall. I finished my applications this past August, and in January I had little preference towards a university. I visited campuses, considered scholarships, and weighed benefits and drawbacks. However, the immensity of the commitment had left me without an answer.

Hopefully I am not misunderstood. I am truly excited to finish my education and pursue the career I have only been able to dream about. And as I have considered my options, I have realized any of the three schools I applied to would eventually lead me to the career I desire. After consulting a friend about the matter, she replied with “you’re pretty adaptable.” However, I continued to stare at three doors, each with ungraspable knobs.

On the contrary to decisive factors, my decision finally resulted in “what felt right.” You heard it here. Sometimes benefits and drawbacks do not matter. Yes, each of the decisive factors need to be considered before you reach your decision. Overall, the “right” deicison is a result of choosing the option that just feels right. Sometimes, you wake up one morning and you just know, as I did when I chose the university I will attend starting August 2017. With every ounce of your being, you know the answer, and you cannot be swayed. I am no longer waiting for that day.

In the mean time, I’m going to reach for the door knob in front of me, and see where it leads.

Leave a comment