ON STAYING MOTIVATED

 MIDTERM EXAMS….

Cringe.

Cry.
Shutter.

Those three words come to mind with the thought of midterms coming up in the next week or so. I guess you could say I do not have any motivation to study or take said exams. Nor do I want to think about how these exams will effect my grade for the course.

I think its  much easier to just grab a coffee and watch another episode of Grey’s Anatomy instead of studying.

Okay, now STOP.

Relaxation and self-worth are top priorities in today’s society. I mean who does not love a little “me time?” “Me time” is appealing compared to studying for a class, or crossing off items on my to-do list. However, too much “me time” or inconsideration in how our actions affect other people is a bad thing.

For instance, turning in a large project late because I decided to paint my nails results in extra stress for my professor. In all actuality, I probably had enough time to finish the project AND paint my nails. The extra stress for my professor was a direct result of the choice of “me time” instead of acting with motivation.

But we do not consider the results of our actions as they affect others. 

But motivation is just so difficult to obtain, right? I’m just too lazy to be motivated, do not have enough time to achieve this project, and I much rather have “me time” instead.

That’s the first problem.

When considering motivation, what you think is how you act. If convinced to be lazy, unmotivated, or time-lacking, you probably will not achieve as much as you intend achieve. Enthusiasm increases personal productivity, and is contagious. Enthusiasm also influences the people around you to act (which is really convenient for group projects, as I might add)

The second problem: time management, and goal setting. The best way to finish projects, get the A on the test you deserve to earn, or simply make the bed in the morning is to make a list of what you and to accomplish, and the amount of time you expect to need to complete said class. I use a planner organized by a weekly-layout to write the tasks I need to accomplish on a specific day. I also color-coat by type of task, so I can create a hierarchy of importance.

Once in the right mind-set, and goals are clear, hold your self accountable. In other words, no “me time” until you complete a certain number of said tasks. By contrast, sometimes taking a solid break of “me time” to refresh your mind and attitude will also keep you motivated. I know, I know, this is not what you wanted to read. However, some self-discipline and less frequent “me time” can lead to more enjoyable “me time”  since the time spent on oneself  is appreciated after a busy schedule.

Viola! there you have it, my formula to stay motivated.

I’m about to have a cup of coffee to recharge!

-Stay motivated –  

 

 

Leave a comment